top of page

Chair Re-upholstery: Drab to Fab

The moment I saw this folding chair at a Japanese Surplus Depot, I knew right then and there that this is going to be revamped--- DIY, by me! I needed a chair to use on the desktop table, so I paid the store a few hundred bucks and took it home. It is made of light but durable construction, easy to stow and quite sturdy being a foldable chair. As you see, the grey leather cover remained undamaged in spite of it being a used piece of furniture. But it's a pain on my behind for prolonged periods of sitting due to the thin (or almost none) layer of foam. And then, it stayed that way for ages until finally, my chance came in, turning the drab to fab. Things I used for the project: screwdriver tacker scissors sewing accessories fabric foam

BEFORE. This was how the chair looks like before the DIY


1. Take the screws out to free up the upholstered seat and backrest components. *Make sure to set the screws aside safely so not a piece will go missing.

*You may also detach the old upholstery from the plywood. I opted to leave it as such.


2. Use the backrest and seat as pattern to cut out the foam. I used 1 inch thick foam.

- 1 layer for the backrest

- 2 layers on the seat for added comfort

*You may use contact cement to stick the foam into the seat and backrest surfaces


3. In this instance, I have chosen a fabric (from my scrap stash) that is off-size for the seat dimension. I did minor sawing to piece 2 rectangular portions of fabric to make a square appropriate the seat size.


4. Note that the sides of the seat has now tripled in thickness. Before cutting, make sure your fabric can wrap to the sides up to an inch or so allowance on the underside.


5. Use a tacker to keep the fabric cover in place. Start with the four straight sides before the curved corners, pulling the fabric just right as you tack along the edges to attain a seamless finish. Doing this avoids a wrinkly surface.


6. Screw the seat and backrest components back to the frame and...

AFTER.

Voila! My drab looking chair has a new fabulous look. Not only is it nice to look at now, with the added bonus of sitting in comfort every time. My butt cheeks thank me!

What's even better is that I never spent a single penny to achieve this DIY re-upholstery. I have this knack for collecting and storing still usable scraps n' stuff for future projects such as this. Mission accomplished.


Happy Seating! :)


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page