top of page

Behind the Selfie


Selfie taken a few years back. It was in 2017 when the world is not hanging in the balance as we have now. I fondly remember the setting... A sea-front accommodation. A room with a balcony facing the sea. Just woke up, stepped out on the balcony to see the spectacular sight of dawn on the horizon where the sky meets the sea. The cool provincial sea breeze greeted me. The gentle ripple of waves calmed my spirit. Maybe it was how the winds caressed my skin as I bask in the warmth and glow the rising sun brought, or simply the feeling of awe and serenity and beauty around me appreciating God all the more, which then made me achieve this fresh faced photo, au naturel. It's like, no matter how much emptiness your heart feels just before immersing yourself in the moment, you will find it overflow with intangible substance afterwards. Well...that's just me. I'm always this passionate about nature whenever I get the chance to be with it. I've actually written a number of poems with lots of description about nature, among others. Since my teen years, I found inspiration looking up at the stars at night even though the polluted sky already dulled their brilliance, 'coz all around me are just concrete and noise. Maybe growing up in the city is a factor, or just the introvert, sentimental me. Someday, I'll go around with just the bare necessities on my back and immerse myself even more. God-willing. Simple pleasures I look forward to. I’ve been obsessing on tiny homes and mobile living for years. To live minimally and lessen my carbon footprint. Get myself a van and convert it myself into a mobile home with comforts of a regular house, only compacted and improvised (I have actually drawn plans on my SketchUp). I’m continuously on the process of research especially on using renewable energy for my minor electrical needs and security on the road. Stoked that I’d be able to do my remote job on a field of greens or the splash of waves as my backdrop. Hence, work, play and enjoy all at the same time. Drive my way to the beautiful places and islands of my country. A longer than usual getaway. The ultimate road trip. Be it alone or with someone. Meet new people and make new friends along the way. Drive a lot and also stop a lot just to admire the view. Have my car stereo blasting with a playlist of my favorite songs.

Take amazing photos of the sunrise and sunset. Take pictures of myself, just because. Stare at the sky at night. Sleep and wake up to different sights and sounds. Visit old and new architecture, a must on the itinerary. Taste the flavors of local delicacies. Explore and observe, take every experience by heart. Buy a souvenir or two.

Trek a mountain. Get my way through a forest trail. Dip into sparkling streams. Run through fog. Course never ending highways as I chase the sun. Not a care even with the wind in my hair. Be free. Feel alive. Live.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page